Change Of Heart – Chapter Twenty Two

When I reach the bottom of the stairs, I stop dead in my tracks as a sick feeling hits me. Chris is following behind me, unaware that I’m about to lose my lunch.

Chris walks around to face me. “Emily, what’s wrong?” he asks. I don’t have time to answer him as I turn on my heels and dart up the steps.

I run as fast as I can, fighting the urge to throw up. I can only hope I can make it on time. 

I get to the toilet just in time before it all comes up. I hurried several times before it stops. I sit here on the floor, hugging the commode like it’s my best friend. I’m feeling a little better until I hear Chris. “Emily, what’s wrong with you?” he says with concern. Why is it that he always manages to catch me in the most unladylike of times. “I’m fine,” I mumble. “Just my nerves again,” I tell him. 

I get up from the floor, flushing the toilet before I face him. I wipe my mouth to make sure I don’t have anything on my mouth. “You’re not coming down with anything, are you?” he asks. “No, it’s nothing,” I say as I laugh at him. “What’s so funny?” he asks. “Only you,” I smirk. 

I walk over to the sink and brush my teeth. I clean up as best as I can. To my surprise, I’m not a total mess like I thought.  

Me and Chris head downstairs to the living room. Alex is out today doing some errands, leaving me and Chris home. I sit down on the couch with Chris. I find that I’m deep in thought. When I look over at Chris, I can tell that he has a lot on his mind as the silence grows between us. I finally break the silence, “I miss them,” I sigh. “Me too,” he agrees. 

“How did we get into this mess?” I ask. “I don’t know, a massive attack of this magnitude has never happened. For them to take out that many guards and to take us by surprise like that, it was so unexpected,” he tells me as he rests his head into his hand as his brow creases from strain.

“I have no one left. It feels like I’m so alone,” I sigh.

Chris stands up abruptly, pulling me to my feet. “What the heck!” I say as I find that I’m now facing Chris in close proximity. My breath catches as he pulls me closer. “What is it?” I ask as he keeps a serious face.

He leans into where he’s very close. I start to pull away but stop as I wonder what’s going on with him. “You have me, let me protect you and take care of you,” he whispers. “I know, but it’s different,” I say.

He puts his forehead to mine. From the look on his face, I can see how torn he is with emotions. I’m not sure what is bothering him so bad today, but I always want to be here for him. He pulls me up against his body, and now his intentions are clear. He’s going to kiss me. “I can’t,” I mummer as I step away from him. 

“I’m sorry, I don’t know what came over me. Please don’t be mad at me,” he says.

“Chris, don’t be sorry, without you I wouldn’t be here. I could never be mad at you,” I tell him.

“So your not mad,” he asks. “No, I could never be mad at you,” I reply. He lets out a sigh, followed by Alex hollering at Chris.

“I will be back,” he says as he pulls me into his arms and hugs me tight. He turns and smiles at me as he leaves the room, leaving me with scattered thoughts.

Later that evening, Chris walks into the room with just his PJ pants on. I think Chris loves to show off when he gets the chance. He’s always had that playful personality. I’ve grown used to him running around shirtless these days. We have become so close that the small things are nothing to us anymore.

“Hey,” he chimes out as he comes to a halt in front of me. “What are you all happy about?” I ask as I watch him with amusement.

Then he unleashes his playful tickles. I’m giggling and laughing as I twist to try to get away from him. “Chris! Please,” I beg as he chases me. 

When he pulls away, I playfully swat at him. He grins from ear to ear. “What?” he laughs.

He scoops me up and spins me around as he laughs. “Chris put me down,” I scream out, followed by laughter. When he stops, his look goes from playful to serious.

“Will you give me a chance………..” he trails off. My heart stops, and I go blank for a second.

I run my hands through his silky hair as I stare down into his blue eyes. “Only you, yes, I will try. You know me better than I know my own self,” I whisper. 

“Can we take it slow,” I ask. “Anything for you. So, where do you want to go from here?” Chris asks. 

“What?” I ask. If we are to start this new life together, I want to start it with only you and me,” Chris says.

I look at this gorgeous man in front of me. I have never looked at Chris like this. We have been best friends for years, never looking at each other this way. Maybe he can free me from the pain that is in my heart. I’ll never be able to repay him for saving my life and everything that he has done for me. He is now asking for my heart, can I give it to him? Can I grow to love him? “Give me some time to think, but yes, I like this idea,” I reply with a smile.  

Author: jameesnuffer

I'm a writer, creator of sims stories and fantasy books. I work as a Nurse Assistant in a SICU unit. I'm also going to college to get my Registered Nurse degree. I have two kids, my son which just turned 19, and my daughter is fifteen. My daughter has Rett's Syndrome, which is a full time job within it's self. Between her dad and me, we get the job done.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started