Full Of Secrets – Chapter Four

My parents were in meetings, while my sister was busy with her boyfriend. Dimitri and Chris were off doing something, but close enough to keep a watchful eye on me. I had nothing better to do, so I sat down at the piano. I remember back when I was a kid taking all those piano lessons. I hated it, I just wanted to be like the other kids playing outside. As I grew older, I found playing the piano enjoyable. I let my fingers glide along the keys as the melody takes me on a wonderful journey.

I was almost through the song when I heard something, well someone behind me. I stopped playing with a grin, somehow I knew who was there. 

I turned around to see Dimitri standing there watching me. “Don’t stop playing, it’s beautiful,” he tells me. He motions for me to continue as he smiles at me. I felt my breath catch in my throat. He never smiled at me like that before. I turn around, taking a deep breath, I place my hands on the keys. I cleared my mind, then steadied my hands. I started from the beginning of the song and played it flawless till the end. 

“I never knew you could play the piano that good, it’s mesmerizing,” he says. “I’ve been playing since I was a small child, I just never play around others. I guess that’s why you never heard me play before,” I say. I looked up at him and we locked eyes. I stopped breathing as he held my gaze. I quickly looked away, I couldn’t let him see what was in my heart. The feelings that I was trying to hide that was growing for him each time we were together. “Lets go outside for a bit,” he says as he reaches down, grabbing my hand into his, leading me outside. 

He lead me into the back yard near the pool. He motions towards the picnic table. As he takes a seat, I set down beside him. It was just me and Dimitri, all alone without anyone else around. This would give me the perfect opportunity to learn a little more about what made Dimitri so special. “Ok, I get that you are able to wield magic and do spells and such, but out of all the time I have known you, I realized that I don’t know that much about you,” I told him, hoping that he would give me some answers, and to explain what I had witnessed the other night when he was sparing outside with Chris.

“There’s nothing to tell, I’m just one of the top royal guardians that your father picked to protect you,” he says. I could hear it in his voice that he was holding something back. I was becoming very frustrated, I wanted to know more about him. “Dimitri! Why hide things from me? You know everything about me, but I don’t know that much about you. Your have dedicated your life to be by my side for as long as I live or if something happens to you,” I yell not realizing it.

He stood up and looked over at me. I had went to far, he was mad and now I was in big trouble. “Ok, you want to know more about me, then follow me,” he says in a stern voice.

I follow him, not saying a word, as he leads me into one of the library’s in the house. It was one of our small library’s that no one hardly visited. Just when I thought he was going to pull a book off the shelf to teach me some history lesson, the whole bookshelf moved to the side revealing a doorway.

 My mouth was on the floor with shock, I had lived here my whole entire life and never knew about this secret room.

I followed Dimitri through the doorway into a room that had concrete walls, with shelves of books that lined it’s walls. There were tables with books that were opened, along with stuff I had no clue what they were. Dimitri turns to me, “this is where I keep my family’s history, along with important things,” he says.  “I didn’t know this existed,” I gaped. “It was built when you were a young child in preparation for me and Chris when we would join the guards. It had been requested by my father that this room be built to hid our family’s secrets. Everyone in the royal family knows we have magic that makes us different from the other guards, that is what makes us different from all the other guards. There are a few of us that exist,” he says. “So that explains the other night,” I say out loud not realizing it. “What do you mean by last night?” Dimitri asks. “I saw you and Chris sparing outside one night. It looked like any other time you guys fight, but then you both moved so fast that it looked so unnatural,” I say. “I see, me and Chris are unique from all the rest. How do I put this, we are the same as you but……..we don’t have the light. Only my family are hybrids that have the special abilities,” he says. “What about Chris?” I ask. He is a distant relative of mine, cousins to be exact, he tells me, leaving me stunned as speechless. 

He grabs my arm, pulling me over to a table that had a large, antique looking book, that was propped up on a stand. He opened it and began to flip through the pages. 

“Ok here it is, I belong to a special group of wizards, guardians or sorcerers, as you would call them, have always been the royal guards to the king and queen that serve on the throne. My grandfather and his before him, have taught us special fighting skills, spells, and potions to aide the king and queen. Your father hand picked me and Chris when we were children. I was chosen to protect you, the future queen. Me and Chris were trained specifically for when you became of age. He has known our secret, and had kept this secret like all the other kings before him,” he says as he flips through the pages. I’m speechless and have not said a word as he tells me the history of his kind. I had known they were different but I had no clue how special Chris and Dimitri were. “I am a direct descendant of the royal wizards that have protected the kingdom, my fate was already decided before I was even born,” he says. “That doesn’t seem very fair,” I say. “It’s the same fate you were given before you were born,” he adds. I couldn’t disagree with that. We were so much alike, and I didn’t even realize it. “These books are all the techniques, spells and potions that have been passed down through the generations of guardian’s in my family. 

As he shut the book I had to break the silence that was hanging between us. I elbowed him in the ribs, “now how hard was that,” I tell him as he rubs his side. “I was not suppose to tell you my secret,” he says. 

Before I can even say anything, he pulls me into his arms, then kisses me on the forehead. He had his arms around me and his lips were pressed on my forehead. My heart was beating so fast, and I couldn’t breath as he held me against him. His body was warm, and his lips were soft and gentle. I wished they were on my lips, but I knew that would never happen no matter how much I wanted him to kiss me. I finally relaxed and wrapped my arms around him. He only held me a brief moment. “I will always protect you,” he told me, then he released me. 

He stepped back and I was already missing his touch. He looked at me, locking his eyes on me, as I tried to hide how much he had affected me. I wanted him to kiss me and hold me in his arms again, I was lost without his touch. He looked away, “we must be going before we are missed,” he says, then leads me out of the hidden door in the library. 

Dimitri told me and Chris that he had some errands to run, and that I was to stay close to Chris for the rest of the evening. It was a hot day, so me and Chris headed toward the pool, except I couldn’t get him to join me. “Come on, it’s nice,” I said as I looked over at him setting in one of the chairs by the pool. “I’m fine, I’m perfectly content setting here,” he says as he shifts in his seat. “Is it because your on duty?” I ask. “It’s not, we are always considered to be on duty. I just don’t feel like getting wet right now. Enjoy yourself, if I change my mind, I will join you,” he says. 

I did a few laps, then decided I was going to join Chris by the pool. 

The sun was warm and welcoming as I set back in my chair. 

I sent Chris into the house to keep him close by, while I got showered and changed. I headed down to the kitchen to get a snack. My sister was in the kitchen roaming through the cabinets when  she turned to face me, “how are you?” she asks. “I’m good, it’s been a really boring day with Mark out of town, and mom and dad away,” I reply. “Can I talk to you about something without you getting mad at me?” she asks. “You can always talk to me, what’s on your mind?” I ask. “I know a secret, and your not going to like it. Mark, well he’s only going out with you because your the kings daughter. He’s wanting to make himself more popular until he becomes king one day. He was even talking about trying to score with you to some of the guys as school,” she tells me.  

I can feel the tears fill my eyes, flowing down my cheeks. I’m shocked and hurt all at the same time. I don’t even know what to say. “How did you find out?” I ask. “I overheard some of the boys talking about it at school, and it makes me angry that he would do that to you. I know you don’t like him that way, so I don’t want you to waste another second on him, he doesn’t deserve you. Just be careful around him,” she says.

“You don’t have anything to worry about sis, I can take care of myself,” I told her. She gives me a funny look. “Yeah like how your crushing on Dimitri,” she says. “I’m not crushing on Dimitri, he’s my guardian,” I say. “Your going to have to be more convincing than that, I see how you look at him. I’m not sure how he feels about you, but you know you can’t be with him like that, it’s forbidden. If you have to get it out of your system, you can fool around with him, as long as you don’t get caught. Your secret is safe with me,” she added with a smile before she walks out of the kitchen. She knows my secret, what am I going to do now?

Author: jameesnuffer

I'm a writer, creator of sims stories and fantasy books. I work as a Nurse Assistant in a SICU unit. I'm also going to college to get my Registered Nurse degree. I have two kids, my son which just turned 19, and my daughter is fifteen. My daughter has Rett's Syndrome, which is a full time job within it's self. Between her dad and me, we get the job done.

One thought on “Full Of Secrets – Chapter Four”

  1. Oh Dimitri! Haven’t you learned that being secretive and mysterious makes you more attractive? Chris and him are cousins? I had forgotten about that! It’s sooo nice to see this story making a fresh start! Now, I’m awaiting for the next chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started